Car insurance documents are some of the things you should always keep in your glove box (or someplace else easy to reach in your vehicle), but how much car insurance do you need in Texas? In order to get a driver’s license or renew their driver’s license car owners in Texas must show that they have insurance that will cover the damages and injuries from any accident that they cause. Liability insurance is therefore required in our great state (unless you can prove with a surety bond or deposit with the state Comptroller or county judge or certificate of self-insurance that you can meet liability limits), but you may also want to get other insurance that will cover other costs related to an accident or breakdown.
How much car insurance do you need in Texas?
Obviously you can get as much insurance as you want for your vehicle, but you must have liability insurance that meets certain minimum requirements for injuries and property damage. They are:
- $30,000 for bodily injuries to one person
- $60,000 for bodily injuries per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
What other insurance can you get?
While liability insurance is required, drivers can also get other insurance that can help pay for damaged in accidents or breakdowns they are in.
Your car may be damaged in an accident even if it is not your fault. Collision will help you pay for those damages sustained when hit by another car.
Hail and deer can cause serious car damage, but they may not be covered by liability or collision insurance. Comprehensive can cover a lot more.
Damages caused by drivers without enough insurance (up to 20% of Texas drivers by some estimates) are covered by this insurance.
What are the consequences of not being insured in Texas and still driving?
The first time you are caught driving without car insurance in Texas will likely result in a fine ranging between $175 to $350. Future convictions have higher fines (getting up to $1,000) and could result in you losing your license or even having your car impounded.
Your individual insurance provider, and your personal needs, will determine which insurance plan is right for you. To learn more about Texas Car Insurance options, you can visit the Texas Department of Insurance website. If you have been rejected by a two car insurance companies in the last 60 days and are struggling to find minimum liability insurance, you can get your required insurance though the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA).