We’ve talked before about what to do if you see a car accident, but what about if you are in one? While you will probably want to call the police after a major car accident so that traffic can be stopped and people can be helped safely, what about after a tiny fender bender? When should you file a police report for a car accident?
When should you file a police report for a car accident?
In Texas, you must file a Crash Report if you are in an accident with an injury, a death, or more than $1,000 in damage. Generally if a law enforcement officer shows up on the scene they will handle the report, but it is good to check to make sure it has been files so you can make a claim with all the correct documentation.
If the crash was not investigated, there were no injuries or deaths, and the damage was less than $1,000, you may still want to file a report if you think you will be putting in an insurance claim for the damage. Having a record of the incident can be important. After making this report, keep a copy for your records because they will be held in the Texas Department of Transportation system for a limited time.
What do you need to file a police report in Texas?
A Driver’s Crash Report (Blue Form) should be filed within 10 days of the accident. You can find out more about this form at https://www.txdot.gov/driver/laws/crash-reports.html. Information you will need for this report includes your name, address, registration, liability insurer, driver’s license and the same information from the other person and car in the accident. Getting names and contact information from witnesses can also be helpful, as well as a little information about the weather and road conditions in case road conditions were a factor in the accident.
If you need a car with affordable financing for any credit level in the Austin TX area, you can explore the used car inventory available here at Third Coast Auto Group.