Window tinting can serve many purposes. For some drivers it’s a way to reduce sun glare for driving comfort during the hot Texas summer, or to minimize a medical condition like migraines. For others, it looks cool and helps maintain more privacy. But is it legal to have tinted windows in Texas?
You May Like: Is it legal to drive barefoot in Texas?
Is it legal to have tinted windows in Texas?
Vehicle windows in Texas are allowed to have tint, but the amount of tint depends on the window. No tint is allowed on the front windshield below the AS-1 line (or the top five inches), and tinting on the front side windows must allow 25 percent or more of light in. Rear side windows have no tint restrictions, and as long as a vehicle has two side view mirrors there are no restrictions on the rear window. If a vehicle does not have side mirrors, then the rear window must allow more than 25 percent of light through at minimum.
These rules apply equally to cars, trucks, SUVs and vans.
Legal car window reflection levels
In Texas, no more than 25 percent reflection is allowed on windows, so if you are adding tint with a reflective surface be sure to minimize that as well.
Medical Exemptions for Window Tinting
A driver may be permitted to get more window tinting on their vehicle if they can show that they have a medical condition that requires more tinting. All the proper forms must be filled out for this exemption and a copy of it must be on the driver at all times.
Having too-dark tint on your windows can be a reason for law enforcement personnel to pull you over, so be sure to have a legal amount of tint. If you have the correct exemptions you shouldn’t get a citation, but no one can tell if you have the right paper work until you are pulled over.