Finally getting your driver’s license can be a great feeling. Suddenly the road is open to you, and there are many more employment opportunities available when you can just drive to a location. But, before you can get a car, and hit the road, you need your license and have to learn the driving skills that will serve you the rest of your life. When can you start driving in Texas? We are going to answer this, and a few other common questions about teen driving laws in Texas in this blog.
When can you start driving in Texas?
You can start driving legally in Texas once you have your learner license. Teens can apply for a learner license when they turn 15. Be aware that in order to get a learner license, teens will have to present proof of their identity (so, a birth certificate and Social Security number, or equivalent documents). People applying for a learner license will also have to pass a basic driving knowledge test including driving theory and what street signs mean. All drivers must also have good vision or wear corrective lenses. With a learner license, teens can only drive with an adult driver (21 years old or more) in the passenger seat.
How long do you have a Texas learner license?
Teens can move to a provisional license when they turn 16 if they have met the basic requirements of that license, including at least 30 hours of practice driving (which includes night driving) with an adult. Other requirements for this license include a hands-on driving test, and having passed a driver’s education course. There are certain restrictions about driving with a provisional license in Texas that will remain in effect until a student turns 18. At that point, they can get a full license.
Driving restrictions for a provisional license
- Absolutely no alcohol consumption with driving
- Seatbelts are required at all times for all passengers
- No phones or other communication devices can be used (even with hands-free technology)
- May only drive one person under 21 at a time, unless they are a family member like a sibling
- No driving after midnight or before 5 a.m. unless it is for work, school, or because of a medical emergency